Irish Dance

1
Applause Studio (location map)
Monday, 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
09/11/17 - 06/18/18 (40 weeks)

Register

Beginners start with learning the fundamental movements in light shoe dancing—one-two- three, sevens, hops, and cuts—while learning learning the first dances the Reel and Light Jig. While learning the first movements, Lauren teaches students the basic techniques utilized such as turn-out, carriage/posture, crossing-over, pointing, and standing on the toes (relevé). Beginners will also learn a traditional ceilí dance, the Walls of Limerick. Ceilí dances are group dances (Walls of Limerick uses four people) which incorporate footwork and steps with coordinated movement with other dancers. At the end of a year, beginner dancers will know at least two of the light shoe dances, the reel and light jig, and more advance dancers will know all four light shoe dances, the reel, light jig, single jig, and slip jig.
 

Upcoming Meetings
09/11/17    7:00 PM Monday 09/11/17 7:00 PM
09/18/17    7:00 PM Monday 09/18/17 7:00 PM
09/25/17    7:00 PM Monday 09/25/17 7:00 PM
10/02/17    7:00 PM Monday 10/02/17 7:00 PM
10/09/17    7:00 PM Monday 10/09/17 7:00 PM
10/16/17    7:00 PM Monday 10/16/17 7:00 PM
10/23/17    7:00 PM Monday 10/23/17 7:00 PM
10/30/17    7:00 PM Monday 10/30/17 7:00 PM
11/06/17    7:00 PM Monday 11/06/17 7:00 PM
11/13/17    7:00 PM Monday 11/13/17 7:00 PM
11/20/17    7:00 PM Monday 11/20/17 7:00 PM
11/27/17    7:00 PM Monday 11/27/17 7:00 PM
12/04/17    7:00 PM Monday 12/04/17 7:00 PM
12/11/17    7:00 PM Monday 12/11/17 7:00 PM
12/18/17    7:00 PM Monday 12/18/17 7:00 PM
12/25/17    7:00 PM Monday 12/25/17 7:00 PM
01/01/18    7:00 PM Monday 01/01/18 7:00 PM
01/08/18    7:00 PM Monday 01/08/18 7:00 PM
01/15/18    7:00 PM Monday 01/15/18 7:00 PM
01/22/18    7:00 PM Monday 01/22/18 7:00 PM
PRIVATE LESSONS

Voice / Piano / Guitar

Our highly qualified and personable instructors have a tremendous following and great loyalty among their students. It is suggested that those who are interested in lessons sign up in August or early September to assure getting a time slot. Many students are able to conveniently schedule their lessons before or after other group lessons at Applause. (For photos and biographies of our private instructors, please visit our Private Instructor Bio Page.)

Private students have their own recital in mid June. Participation is voluntary.

Click here to check out our teacher bios!